Obama :: Homer

September 9, 2008

A friend writes:

Obama is only good with a prepared speech and an operable teleprompter. That’s why he didn’t want to do Town Hall meetings with McCain. If you read Drudge, you’ve doubtlessly seen the clip of Obama talking about putting lipstick on a pig, and how people are taking it as a slight against Palin. Watching the video, I don’t think he actually meant it as such, which actually make the line even MORE stupid. It’s one thing to take a swipe, it’s another to open yourself up to the criticism that you took a swipe because you don’t possess the extemporaneous oratorical skills to avoid making a major faux pax.

Anyways, after the past few days of Obama ripping on Palin when he should be ignoring her, I was reminded of a great line from the best Simpsons episode of all-time (Last Exit to Springfield). After Mr. Burns finally caves on an employee dental plan on the condition that Homer resigns as Union president, Homer agrees, then proceeds to do a Three Stooges dance on the floor because he never wanted the job in the first place. As Mr. Burns watches, perplexed, he remarks, “Smithers, I’m beginning to think that Homer Simpson is not the brilliant tactician I thought he was.”

Not that I ever thought B.O. was a brilliant tactician, but I didn’t think he was THIS inept.

My reply:

I just looked at it for the first time, and I agree he didn’t mean it that way, but my observation is that while he didn’t mean it that way, the crowd thought he did and only then did they start applauding.

Leave a Reply

